Run The Rock: The Energy to Run

Yesterday, before my run, I wrote a short post about my pre-workout eating habits. Meanwhile I made my second attempt at home-made energy bars, which happened to be quite delicious. Unfortunately, the photos that I had taken did not turn out so well, so I am currently cooking up another batch as I write the instructions on how to make them.

For these high carb energy bars I will be using the following ingredients:

2 cups rolled oats

1 cup wheat flour

1/2 cup whey protein

2 eggs

1 cup dried cranberries

1/2 cup crushed peanuts

1/4 cup fruit juice

1/4 cup unsalted butter

3/4 cup peanut butter

1/4 cup honey

You will also need:

A large mixing bowl

A small pot

Measuring cups

A mixing spoon

Cookie sheet (In my case a pizza pan)

Begin by combining the peanut butter, butter, and honey into a small pot. Heat on low until everything is melted; this will make it much easier to mix all of the ingredients together. At the same time measure the rest of your ingredients into a large mixing bowl. Feel free to substitute the cranberries and peanuts for any other fruit and/or nuts that you prefer.

At this time you should begin to preheat your oven to 325 degrees.

When the butter mix is melted, with no remaining chunks of peanut butter, add it to the mixing bowl and stir thoroughly. After you finish combining the ingredients and they mold into a large sticky ball, you will need to flatten it out, about 1/2 inch thick, onto a large greased cookie sheet.

Bake at 325 degrees for anywhere from 10 to 30 minutes depending on how soft you would like bars. Yesterday I baked the bars for 30 minutes resulting in a crunchy bar, much like the Nature Valley granola bars. Today’s batch, baked for 20 minutes, are much softer similar to an oatmeal cookie. The next round I will bake for only 10 minutes, expecting a result much like the Cliff Bars.

After cutting it into 16 pieces each bar has approximately 240 Calories, 10 grams of fat, 23 grams of carbohydrate, and 7 grams of protein. With that many calories I wouldn’t suggest eating this as a regular snack, but if you need an energy boost before a workout this carb filled snack is sure to wake you up.

2 responses to this post.

  1. […] « Run The Rock: Better Breathing Run The Rock: The Energy to Run […]

    Reply

  2. […] minutes to run. I remember feeling awesome during this run, to which I credited my newly created, home made energy bars. That was followed by two weeks of intermittent strength training, much like One Workout Per Hour, […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

