Webster In A Week: A lesson in procrastination

    After procrastinating for the entire week I was in a rush on Sunday to land a webster and complete this weeks endeavor. Unfortunately, as I learned in school, waiting until the last-minute and rushing to be done returns half-assed results. So, as you can see in yesterdays post, and video, I had not completed a webster in the good-looking fashion that I had hoped.

    When I went back out yesterday evening I viewed it as one last opportunity to land a smooth webster before the end of the week. After a few more attempts on flat ground I was still landing in a squatted position which doesn’t have the aesthetic appeal that I am looking for. Walking through the park behind my house I was hoping to find a small ledge or hill that I could flip off of. This would add some extra height and time to rotate allowing me to land in a standing position.

    When I came across a foot of concrete left over from an old sign post I decided to go for it. Already sore from a day of home-brew gymnastics I let some fear creep into my head and began to hesitate. After a few minutes a group of disc-golfers walked up and we started talking, as the conversation was winding down I told one of the to give me a count of three. This has worked in the past to help me commit to something I am afraid to do. As he hit three I started running, I hit the concrete stump and went for it as though I was still on flat ground. As I completed my rotation I reached hard for the ground, when my right foot touched my shoulders were way out in front, I tucked my head and rolled out to avoid landing on my face.

    Excited to have finished in an upright position I was ready to go again and get it on video, even though it was clearly too dark. I set up the camera and started my approach without hesitation. As I launched off of concrete I held back to avoid over-flipping, which turned out to be a big mistake. As I came over the top I tucked hard knowing that I had not given myself enough rotation, given how dark it was I depended solely on my sense of gravity to tell me where the ground was. Just as I completed the flip I hit the ground with my tailbone and feet at the same time clearly ending gymnastics for the day and leaving me to perfect my webster in the days to come.(I have this video on my phone and will post a link when I am no longer too lazy to upload such a horrible video.)

    As I rest my bruised tailbone I am glad that my home and work computers are on standing desks, because it may be a few days before I can comfortably sit down. Due to the soreness caused by yesterdays marathon gymnastics session I have chosen something this week that is not at all physically demanding, something that I probably should have done the first week of this blog. Since starting this blog I spent very little time on the way it looked, I was too excited to get started writing; so this week I will try to improve the look and feel of the blog. Please feel free to leave any comments or suggestions on what I can do to make Weekly Endeavor look more appealing and reader friendly.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by george on September 15, 2011 at 11:20 PM

    I just found this website trying to find out if working out every hour was a good idea. And holy shit am I glad I did, this is really encouraging, I’m definitely going to start giving myself a challenge a week. I really hope your still up to an endeavor a week, and although you only have.. one follower, lol thats terrible, you need to get back posting; the next endeavor: get this site out. People need to see what your doing, I guarantee you’ll have a cult following in no time.

    KEEP POSTING

    Reply

    • Your comment is truly appreciated. For several weeks now I have had the desire to continue this blog, but lacked the motivation. I wish you the best of luck in overcoming the challenges that you present for yourself, and hope that you will keep me updated on your successes. Feel free to post comments on my upcoming blog posts, as I will be back to writing this coming week. Once again I appreciate the support, and I hope to hear from you in the future.

      Reply

  2. Posted by george on September 15, 2011 at 11:26 PM

    Ive already got mine planned out; lucid dreaming; be back in 7 nights

    Reply

Leave a Reply

